Thanksgiving Crises Averted

Apple Pie 2

I'm really only good for pie questions. Although those of you with my cell phone number are welcome to call.

Good luck to all the cooks out there embarking on their Thanksgiving meal for the first time tomorrow. I have to say – I envy you a little. I’ve only cooked the meal once, and it took me about ten hours. But man, they were a great ten hours. Even though the timing is hard, nothing about the meal is technically difficult – besides having the turkey, a naturally dry meat, turn out juicy and flavorful (my bird was neither, by the way). And doing that much cooking, coordinating all the little elements – it was tremendous fun.

If you’re looking for a good dessert recipe from the ModernDomestic archives, here are my best bets:

If you’re looking for more hands-on help before and during the big day, then never fear- there’s help out there. Professional help. As I did last year, I’ve compiled a list of Thanksgiving hotlines to answer all your questions. For those of you who don’t have my direct line, that is (not that I’m much help in anything but the pie department. But I can try).

For all your general cooking questions:

  • The Splendid Table, Lynne Rossetto Kasper’s  wonderful NPR cooking show, will be having a two hour live call-in show starting at 11:00 am (eastern) on Thanksgiving day. Give Lynne a call at (800) 537-5252. You can also submit questions online at the show’s web site.

For turkey troubles

  • If you’re anti-Butterball, Reynolds has a Turkey Tips Hotline at 1-800-745-4000.
  • You can also call Purdue’s hotline with your turkey questions at 1-800-4PERDUE® (1-800-473-7383).
  • If your Turkey question is specific to brining, call the Spice Hunter hotline at 888-334-8977.

For a pie crisis

  • The Crisco Pie Hotline will answer your basic and advanced pie baking questions. Call them at -877-FOR PIE TIPS (1-877-367-7438). Granted, I hope they can answer questions about more than just shorting, since I dearly hope you’re using some butter in your pie crust (actually, I hope you’re using a ratio of six tbs butter and 2 tbs shortening to 1 cup of flour).

For general baking questions:

Cranberry queries:

  • Problems with the cranberry sauce? Ocean Spray can answer cranberry questions at 1-800-662-3263.

Good luck!

6 Comments »

  1. Mike Licht said

    Cook Turkey the Real Guy way — deep-fried.

    See:

    Turkey Torching Tips for Guys

  2. Shaw Girl said

    I’m one of those first timers! I’m excited but anxious! But if all else fails, I’ll ply my guests with liquor! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • moderndomestic said

      Well considering that you’ve pre-tested all your recipes, I think it will be fabulous. Good luck!

  3. Jenn said

    I’m making the Pumpkin Beer Ice Cream to go with Pumpkin Pie tomorrow. Can’t wait to see how it is. The best pie a la mode ever.

    • moderndomestic said

      I am SO EXCITED that you’re using my recipe! Let me know how it goes. Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. […] *ModernDomestic offers some trusty recipes for pumpkin pie and other desserts as well as emergency hotlines for everything else. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment