After The Apple Storm

Apples - Basket

The Haul. Well, actually, my haul was about three times this big.

The apple deluge is here. I have, sitting in the corner of my apartment, a good 20 pounds of apples from a day out at Homestead Farms. I could barely carry the haul from my friend’s car to my apartment (yes, in case you’re thinking it, I’m not very strong).

Needless to say, there wasn’t a lot of writing this weekend. Instead, there was a lot of peeling. And chopping. And cutting butter into pastry. And rolling of dough. Maybe I’ll write about it. Maybe, if I can get up the energy after making all these things with apples.

Apples - Rebecca

Rebecca can't believe how big this apple is.

Apples - On the Tree

On the tree. I would tell you what variety of apple this is, but I'm honestly not sure.

Homestead Farms - More Squash

Squash for sale at the farm.

Apples - Picking

Among the trees.

5 Comments »

  1. Joellen said

    Do tell! I’d love to hear what you’ve made. I haven’t made anything yet. But I have lined up my ideas: apple butter, apple cake, mini apple muffins and apple sauce. Yum!

  2. Joanne said

    I’m making apple pound cake sometime this week. I have low expectations.

  3. […] I bet you thought I was going to make an apple pie. I mean, what could be more natural in a house inundated with 20 plus pounds of […]

  4. Rebecca said

    I made apple crisp, but I cheated because I had a mix. The mix was for either for 2 crisps using 5 apples each, or one big crisp with 10 apples. So i prepped 10 apples and then discovered that at some point I had used half the mix to make a 5 apple smaller crisp. So now I have a 10 apple crisp with half the dough. But it’s all good because I used plenty of butter!

    • moderndomestic said

      Well it’s definitely healthier with less topping, but the topping is the best part. Is the mix better than making it from scratch?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

