So I Picked Those Peaches (and blackberries). . .

Peaches 1

Peaches, from Homestead Farm, in Maryland.

I write from the couch. I cannot stand anymore. I have spent the last five hours doing things to peaches. Eating them, washing them, blanching them in hot water, peeling them, making them into (runny) jam. Needless to say, I am exhausted. And full of peaches. Back tomorrow (or possible Wednesday) with a report from the urban homestead.

And, it’s my birthday. Goodbye 26. Hello 27. Have some peaches.

Peaches 2

My God. What am I going to do with these peaches?

13 Comments »

  1. Cyndy said

    Well have a peachy-keen birthday then! Sorry, somebody had to say it….

    • moderndomestic said

      Heh. Someone did have to say it.

  2. Amelia said

    Happy Birthday!!

  3. Alice said

    Happy birthday! You could do peach pie, peach cobbler, peach clafoutis, peach ice-cream, freeze-dried peaches, peach roll-ups.

    • moderndomestic said

      Those are good ideas. I want to make stuff that will freeze well -. I made peach tartlets, and put almost all of them in the freezer. Maybe clafoutis for later in the week – when I’m less sick of these peaches.

      How do you make peach roll ups?

  4. Meg said

    Happy Birthday! I shall add to Alice’s suggestions: Peach sangria and peach granita. Mmmm.

    • moderndomestic said

      You are the granita queen! Sadly, I can’t do sangria on a weekday, but maybe if I can get some friends over this weekend . . .

  5. Kath said

    Happy Birthday from Sonoma County California…! Enjoy every minute of it.

  6. mary said

    Happy Birthday! I’m going peach picking this weekend. I can’t wait!

    • moderndomestic said

      I hope you make something delicious with them!

  7. […] with my epic peach and blackberry picking trip to Homestead Farms in Poolesville, Maryland, this month’s baking project had to be desserts […]

  8. […] a return trip to Homestead Farms this weekend (that’s the same farm where I picked those peaches that lead to such an epic baking week). I fully intend to come back with more apples than I […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

