Weekly Roundup: Farmer’s Market Edition

Apartment 4

The light in the new apartment. Hoping to get some more photos together this weekend.

I left my apartment without my umbrella this morning, so I’m desperately hoping that the sky won’t explode this afternoon. But otherwise, it’s a small glitch in an otherwise lovely Friday. This weekend will be filled with farmer’s markets; I’m planning on visiting the new Eastern Market on Saturday and the Dupont Farmer’s market on Sunday, and I can’t wait to get my hands on those local fruits and vegetables. I’ll also be attending the  “Meet the Peeps Artists” party at Artomatic (6:00-9:00 on Saturday night, if anyone wants to go and see Peeptown Cupcake and the other peeps dioramas in action).

New recipes I want to try from this week’s Internet adventures:

  • Many thanks to Amelia at Gradually Greener for trying out black bean brownies. Apparently, they live up to the hype.

And in other news:

  • The new Eastern Market reopens this weekend, and Daily Candy has an excellent guide to the best of the Market’s vendors.
  • Ezra Klein, formerly of The American Prospect and one of the policy wonks over at the Internet Food Association, has landed a new Washington Post food column.
  • DC Foodies writes about a new cooking class at CulinAerie, a local cooking school, for home cooks who want to get beyond basics. It sounds exactly like what I’m looking for. Now if only I could afford the class . . .
  • The City Paper’s Young and Hungry blog has been doing a series on all the restaurants that made the Young and Hungry Dining Guide. I don’t what it was about their write up of Banh Mi D.C. Sandwich that struck me so much, but ever since then I’ve been craving a good bahn mi. Maybe it’s because I used to eat them all the time when I lived in Seattle? Still, I doubt I’ll be making it out to Falls Church anytime soon.

Have a great weekend!

1 Comment »

  1. Rebecca said

    The new place looks great. I’m not so sure about those black bean brownies. You will have to let me know how they turn out.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

