Back Next Week With Your Regularly Scheduled Roundup

NW-Cherries

Cherries from the McMinnville farmer's market in McMinville, Oregon.

Good morning Modern Domestic readers! I’m still getting over my jet lag, so I’ll be back next week with the weekly roundup. In the meantime, I hope you’ll check out the bloggers I met at the blogger happy hour for your weekend food-related reading.

This weekend I plan on seeing friends, helping Nonnka decorate her apartment, doing some writing, and making an Ikea run. I have a couple of cooking projects on the agenda too, but I’m not sure I want to tell you what they are just yet. I may not be able to find a key ingredient for one of them, so I’d rather keep mum than tell you I have an extravagant project in mind and not deliver.

So please, content yourselves with some more photos from my epic Northwest journey. Back next week with more baking recipes and pastry reveries. And happy Friday!

NW - Tomatoes

Tomatoes, also from the McMinnville's farmer's market.

I fell in love with McMinnville when my parents and I visited there. It’s in the heart of Oregon wine country, and the whole downtown is filled with picturesque shops, restaurants, and wine bars. My uncle just started teaching at Linfield College, so he and my aunt are in a good position to become experts on Oregon wine.

NW - Rogue

A sign from the Rogue pub in Portland.

God I miss living in a place where everyone drinks good beer. Rogue’s Dead Guy Ale has become one of my favorite beers to drink in DC, because it’s one of the only Oregon brews I can regularly find on tap or in bottles.

NW - Thaiger Noodles

I miss these. A lot.

My beloved Thaiger Noodles from the Thaiger Room in Seattle. I ate these all the time in college – the wide rice noodles are covered in this savory sweet sauce that’s addicting.

NW - Boats

Boats!

Sometimes I can’t believe that my old apartment was a ten minute walk from Lake Union in Seattle. Can you imagine being able to just walk down and see water like this in DC? No, I can’t. And no, the Potomac isn’t the same.

4 Comments »

  1. I try not to profess my love to the Northwest 24/7 but you are absolutely right – whenever I go home I can’t believe the mountain/water view from even just good ole HWY 99. Oh and don’t even get me started on the smell of the water…

  2. Amelia said

    Beautiful. There really is no place like the Northwest. And I totally agree about the smell of the water. It is one of the things I love most about visiting home.

  3. I will never forget drinking Rogues to celebrate my friend’s return from the summit of Denali. The taste of happiness!

  4. […] over at Modern Domestic writes about her trip out West. These cherries are from the farmers market in McMinville, Oregon. This photo and others can be […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment