Gingerbread Houses at the House of Sweden!

Empire State Building

It's not a gingerbread house, it's a gingerbread Empire State Building!

It’s officially the holiday season, and I thought I’d bring you some holiday cheer with, what else, gingerbread houses!

Wonktheplank and I visited the Swedish Embassy’s Swedish Christmas Bazaar at the House of Sweden last Saturday, which featured beautiful decorations, crafts, and food. But I was really there because of the gingerbread house contest—I want to make my own gingerbread house this year, and wanted to get some inspiration.

While I was there, I was lucky enough to talk to six and half year-old Nils, who made the stunning Empire State Building gingerbread house pictured above (with a little help from his mom).

Niels with House

Nils, with his entry, a gingerbread Empire State Building.

Nils told me that he decided on the Empire State Building because his family recently took a trip to New York, where they got to see the real Empire State Building. When his mother, who works at the embassy, heard about the contest, it seemed like a natural fit. I couldn’t agree more and I think they did a great job.

I also got to speak with the winner of the contest, Karin Wheedon, who created a gingerbread Noah’s Arc. I loved her entry, especially the blue waves in the front and the pairs of animals walking up the ramp. 

Gingerbread Arc

The winning gingerbread house was actually an arc.

Karin is an accomplished gingerbread architect; she makes a gingerbread house every year with her kids for Christmas, and her creations have included a gingerbread castle, a gingerbread igloo, and even a gingerbread train. Part of her inspiration for the arc was her plethora animal cookie cutters; she designed the template herself.

Gingebread House Winner

Karin Weedon wins first prize in the gingerbread house contest.

While I didn’t get to speak with the other two contestants, I certainly liked their entries. One of the houses had a rainbow candy roof, complete with powdered sugar snow, which I thought was a nice touch.

Gingerbread - Rainbow House

A rainbow gingerbread house.

I liked the landscaping on the final entry, especially the gingerbread trees.

Gingerbread House

A gingerbread house built for two.

I was definitely glad I went to the baazar, as I got some good ideas for my own gingerbread house, and got to be around some holiday cheer. We even walked through the snow (well, the snow flurries) on our way back to Georgetown, which was very festive and a perfect way to end the evening.

Snow at House of Sweden

You can barely see the snow on the boardwalk, but it felt very festive and Christmas-y at the time.

4 Comments »

  1. wonktheplank said

    I think that is a blurry shot of the mysterious Wonk the Plank! Call the tabloids!

  2. moderndomestic said

    I know! Your secret identity could be revealed!

  3. Bonnie (AKA Mom) said

    A fun entry. We here in the bankruptcy world need some Christmas cheer. I like these houses because they all look like they were done by “real” people as opposed to professional bakers. The two on the bottom are reminiscent of some of your childhood creations, especially the one w/the M&M roof.

  4. I found another version of a Gingerbread Empire State Building here:
    http://www.searchlawrence.com/Gingerbread_Empire_State_Building.php It even has a Donkey Kong Santa and planes!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

